Macedonia is a country located in the central Balkan peninsula in Southeast Europe. It is one of the successor states of the former Yugoslavia, from which it declared independence in 1991. It became a member of the United Nations in 1993 but, as a result of a dispute with Greece over its name, it was admitted under the provisional reference of the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, sometimes abbreviated as FYROM.

Places you need to see:

  • Skopje
  • Ohrid
  • Lake Ohrid
  • Matka Canyon
  • Kuklica
  • National park Mawrowo